Are You Considering The Abortion Pill?
The abortion pill is not just one pill, and you’re done. It’s a two-step process consisting of two powerful drugs taken over a 24-to-48-hour period. The Abortion Pill(s) are taken for a medication abortion. The Abortion Pill should not be confused with the morning-after pill.
The hormone progesterone is required to maintain a normal pregnancy. The first drug blocks the uterus from absorbing progesterone which interferes with the life-support for the embryo or fetus.
The second drug is taken hours or days later. This drug causes uterine contractions, which expels the remains of the embryo or fetus and placenta.
For your safety, you must understand the side effects and potential risks of the abortion pill.
Undergoing a medication abortion is a serious decision that can affect you mentally and physically. The FDA states that women who take the abortion pill commonly experience the following physical side effects in addition to vaginal bleeding and abdominal cramping:
- Back Pain
To be fully informed, it is essential to consider less common but more serious complications following a medication abortion.
- Incomplete abortion which may require a follow up surgical abortion
- Prolonged/Heavy bleeding
The Mayo Clinic states, “Having a medical abortion is a major decision with emotional and psychological consequences.” If you’ve had an abortion and are experiencing symptoms of depression or severe anxiety, please consult a mental health professional. Call us. We can refer you to a mental health professional in our area.
When Can I Get A Medication Abortion?
On September 1, 2021, Senate Bill 8 (SB8), also known as the “heartbeat bill,” became effective in Texas. This law states that once a heartbeat is detected, abortion is no longer a legal option.
By law, before obtaining any kind of abortion, your pregnancy must be confirmed and gestational development must be determined by ultrasound.
The heartbeat can generally be detected with an ultrasound at 6 weeks of pregnancy which is 2 weeks after a missed period. Texas also has a 24-hour waiting period after the first ultrasound is performed before an abortion can be initiated.
We can explain to you the requirements of the new law as well as the other legal requirements. Make an appointment to receive a no-cost pregnancy test. In most cases, you will also qualify for a free ultrasound to determine how many days/weeks you have been pregnant.