How Do I Know If I’m Pregnant?
A missed period is usually the first sign of pregnancy, but there can be a change in your menstrual cycle for other reasons, too. Come to Care Net for free pregnancy testing.
Can I Bring Someone With Me To My Appointment?
Yes, we want you to be as comfortable as possible. You’re welcome to bring your partner, a parent, or a friend.
Due to covid best practices, however, we ask that you limit yourself to one other adult guest.
How Much Do Your Services Cost?
There is no cost for any services provided at Care Net Pregnancy Center. You won’t have to pay for anything.
Why Do I Need An Ultrasound?
In addition to learning how many days/weeks you have been pregnant, an obstetrical ultrasound will show if your pregnancy is properly positioned in your uterus.
About 2% of pregnancies develop outside of the uterus. This type of pregnancy is called an ectopic pregnancy. An ectopic pregnancy—only detected through an abdominal ultrasound scan—can be a life-threatening condition and requires immediate medical attention. Ectopic pregnancy is the leading cause of maternal death during the first trimester of pregnancy.
An ultrasound scan can also confirm the viability of your pregnancy. An ultrasound provides important information for determining your next step.
If I Get An Ultrasound At Care Net, Does The Texas Heartbeat Law Require You To Report The Results?
No, Care Net Pregnancy Center adheres to strict privacy and client confidentiality policies. The results of a pregnancy test or an ultrasound are part of your personal medical records and can only be released with your written permission.
Ultrasound and The Heartbeat Law
On September 1, 2021, Senate Bill 8 (SB8) also known as the “heartbeat bill” became effective in Texas. This law states that once a heartbeat is detected, abortion is no longer a legal option.
By law, before obtaining any kind of abortion, your pregnancy must be confirmed, and gestational development must be determined by ultrasound. The heartbeat can generally be detected with an ultrasound at 6 weeks of pregnancy which is 2 weeks after a missed period. Texas also has a 24-hour waiting period after the first ultrasound is performed before an abortion can be initiated.
Although Care Net Pregnancy Center is not an abortion provider, we can explain to you the requirements of the new law as well as other legal requirements. Our goal is for you to have all the facts so that you can make an informed choice. Same-day or next-day appointments are usually available. Make your appointment now.
Do I need an adult with me if I’m under Age?
No, you do not need an adult or a parent with you if you are under age. We are a confidential and safe place for women of all ages looking to explore unplanned pregnancy options, including abortion. All information shared by you during your appointment will be kept in the strictest confidence except as required by law.
Is the “Morning-After Pill” the Same as The Abortion Pill?
The “Morning-After Pill” (sold under names like Plan B One-Step®) is a form of emergency birth control. It is designed to be taken within 72 hours of unprotected sex to prevent pregnancy.
The Abortion Pill causes a medication abortion and is used to terminate a confirmed pregnancy after you have missed a period.