Your Next Step

Getting an ultrasound is the most important step you can take after you have a positive pregnancy test. Ultrasound will help you know for sure if your pregnancy is viable. Most clients who come to Care Net Pregnancy Center qualify for a complimentary limited-obstetrical ultrasound.

While you are here for your pregnancy test appointment, a staff member will determine if you qualify and get you scheduled for your ultrasound.

What Is Ultrasound?

Ultrasound is an imaging method using high-frequency sound waves to capture an image from inside your body. During the ultrasound, a gel will be applied to your abdomen that allows a hand-held transducer to pick up echoes of the sound waves inside.

The sound waves bounce back to create a digital image of your uterus and possible pregnancy which can be viewed on a large monitor.

There’s A Chance You Aren’t Pregnant

Believe it or not, you can have a positive pregnancy test but not have a viable pregnancy. Viable means the pregnancy is developing as expected and a heartbeat is detectable.

The Mayo Clinic reports that up to 20% of known pregnancies end in a natural miscarriage. The number of actual miscarriages is likely higher since many women miscarry before they even know they’re pregnant.

After a miscarriage, it can take more than 2 weeks for the hormone that is detected for a positive pregnancy test to clear out of your body, so it’s entirely possible to get a positive result even after a miscarriage.

Why Do I Need An Ultrasound?

In addition to learning how many days/weeks you have been pregnant, an ultrasound will show if your pregnancy is properly positioned in your uterus.

About 2% of pregnancies develop outside of the uterus. This is called an ectopic pregnancy. An ectopic pregnancy—that can only be detected through an ultrasound scan—can be a life-threatening condition and requires immediate medical attention. Ectopic pregnancy is the leading cause of maternal death during the first trimester of pregnancy.

An ultrasound scan can also confirm the viability of your pregnancy. An ultrasound provides important information for determining your next step.

Ultrasounds and The Heartbeat Law

On September 1, 2021, Senate Bill 8 (SB8) also known as the “heartbeat bill” became effective in Texas. This law states that once a heartbeat is detected, abortion is no longer a legal option.

By law, before obtaining any kind of abortion, your pregnancy must be confirmed, and gestational development must be determined by ultrasound.  The heartbeat can generally be detected with an ultrasound at 6 weeks of pregnancy which is 2 weeks after a missed period.  Texas also has a 24-hour waiting period after the first ultrasound is performed before an abortion can be initiated.

Although Care Net Pregnancy Center is not an abortion provider, we can explain to you the requirements of the new law as well as other legal requirements. Our goal is for you to have all the facts so that you can make an informed choice.  Same-day or next-day appointments are usually available. Make your appointment now.